The First Fleet: Elizabeth

I am scared, today, the police came in and said that we were setting off on a boat to a place tomorrow. It is going to sail for 6 months to get there. It is called Sydney Core, Oh sorry, I meant to say Sydney Cove. I stole a bonnet and a shawl worth 7 shillings a few days before, I only wanted to afford a delicious piece of cherry pie

“Elizabeth, Oh Elizabeth, think before you act”, mother used to say. I now know what that means.

I met a new friend today, Her name is Emilia Johnson, She got caught with a shawl and a basket of fancy clothes. Emilia is about the same age as me, 13.

Today, the police dragged us onto a horse driven barrow, kind of like the horse driven barrows rich people use to sell flowers, with their scents sweeter than honey, and their colours more than a rainbow. I was so sleepy that I fell asleep in the barrow, and before I knew it, the police shouted into my ear in a harsh voice: “wake up! Wake Up! WAKE UP!”  I rubbed my ears, and woke up, not daring to do anything wrong.

The ship towered over us, I think it is called The Charlotte. a giant shadow loomed over us. I blinked, the bright morning breeze rushing beside my ears. The police led us and some other women into a shed, and told us to get dressed into a skirt and some leggings. We then were led into the ship which was filled with convicts.

Some were laughing, some were crying, and some were just staring into blank space. I felt tired, so I tried to find a bunk, but somebody else told me to get off there or else, and I was too frightened to resist. Suddenly, a hand reached out of top a bunk and I heard Emilia say: “Over here!”

I climbed up…

Leave a Reply