Rulga Bill

Oh, what a lovely day it is in the farm.

Hi, I’m Rulga Bill, son of Mulga Bill. I love bicycles, even though my dad says bicycles are a terror. He always tells me the story of him and his bicycle. It goes like this:

One day, my dad suddenly decided that he was going to ride a bike. So he bought a fancy bike and suit, and set up uphill.

But when he went downhill, he lost control of his bike, and his bike rolled right into dead man’s creek! So he left it there and gave up on bike riding.

He doesn’t want me to have the same fate…

2 Replies to “Rulga Bill”

  1. Hello!
    What a great story. So sad that the dad had a terrible experience with his bicycle. Riding bikes are so much fun. Thanks for sharing your story.
    Dinah #Team100

  2. Ross Mannell (Team 100WC) says: Reply

    Hello Apple,

    Also being an Aussie, I liked your reference to Paterson’s “Mulga Bill’s Bicycle” but was surprised to learn Mulga Bill had a son, Rulga Bill. Well done!

    I wonder if Rulga will follow in his dad’s footsteps or heed his dad’s warning?

    Ross Mannell (Team 100WC)
    Teacher (retired), N.S.W., Australia

Leave a Reply